County Boards on DD

There are 88 counties in Ohio, and each has a County Board on Developmental Disabilities. 

County boards of DD are governed by seven volunteer (unpaid) board members.  Five of these board members are appointed by county commissioners, while two board members are appointed by county probate judges. At least two individuals who are eligible for services provided by the county board or are immediate family members of such individuals.

Ohio Advocacy Task Force for People with Developmental Disabilities, as a part of its goal, is to increase representation of people with disabilities on Ohio’s county boards.

Currently in Ohio, few of the county boards of DD have a person with a developmental disability on its board. The Task Force’s goal is to work with appointing authorities and decision makers to increase representation of people with developmental disabilities on their respective boards.


County Boards of DD were established by the Ohio state legislature to provide supports and services to individuals with intellectual and other developmental disabilities. This change in philosophy and public policy provided alternatives to state run institutions and afforded individuals the opportunity to live, work and participate in their local community.